Release type: Media Release


Supporting children the focus of preschool Expert Advisory Group


The Hon Alan Tudge MP
Minister for Education and Youth

A new panel of experts will advise the Government on delivering the best possible preschool outcomes for our children and families now, and into the future.

Minister for Education and Youth Alan Tudge hosted the first meeting of the Preschools Outcomes Measure Expert Advisory Group on Thursday.

Minister Tudge said the panel would develop options to measure the impact of preschool for Australian children, to help ensure every child gets the support they need to succeed.

“Children who engage in quality early childhood education are better prepared to start primary school and enjoy better educational and lifelong outcomes,” Minister Tudge said.

“We want to ensure that all children get the full benefit associated with quality preschool and are better prepared to start school.

“I look forward to seeing what options the Expert Advisory Group puts forward.”

“This is part of the Government’s $2 billion commitment to ensure every Australian child has access to 600 hours of preschool in the year before school.”

Membership includes diverse expertise across early childhood development and education and members bring both local and international experience.

The Members of the Expert Advisory Group are:

  • Professor Sharon Goldfeld: Director of the Population Health Theme, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and Director of the Centre for Community Child Health, Royal Children’s Hospital
  • Professor Sally Brinkman: Co-Director of the Fraser Mustard Centre, an initiative of the Telethon Kids Institute and the South Australian Department of Education and Child Development
  • Professor Leslie Loble: Industry Professor, University of Technology Sydney and Fellow of the Paul Ramsay Foundation
  • Dr Dan Cloney: Senior Research Fellow, Education Policy and Practice Program and Member of the Centre for Global Education Monitoring, Australian Council for Educational Research
  • Dr Sandra Cheeseman: Chief Operating Officer of Creche and Kindergarten Association, Queensland
  • Dr Stacey Fox: Manager at Dandolo Partners
  • Dr Anne Kennedy: Fellow of the University of Melbourne, Graduate School of Education 
  • Dr Suzan Mentha: Lecturer, University of Melbourne, Graduate School of Education.

The advisory group will review existing research, evidence and strategies from Australia and internationally, and advise on potential new measures, or the adaption of existing measures.

This information will mean that the Commonwealth, state and territory governments can work together with the early childhood sector to develop a greater understanding of what works for Australian preschool children.

The Advisory Group will report in early 2022 to inform the implementation of measure in 2025.