Release type: Media Release


New Higher Education Standards Panel appointed


The Hon Alan Tudge MP
Minister for Education and Youth

A distinguished group of higher education policy leaders have been appointed to provide expert advice to Government on maintaining and improving the quality and standards of Australia’s higher education and research.

Professor Steve Chapman CBE, Vice-Chancellor and President of Edith Cowan University, has been named as the new chair of the Higher Education Standards Panel.

Three new members have also been appointed:

  • Professor Helen Bartlett, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Sunshine Coast.
  • Professor Joe Chicharo OM, Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Wollongong.
  • Professor Doug Hilton AO, Institute Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research.

Two previous members were reappointed:

  • Professor Kerri-Lee Krause, Provost and Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Avondale University College (Deputy Chair)
  • Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis, Director: Office of the Vice-Chancellor, University of South Australia

The new appointees join existing panel members Dr David Perry, Vice President Academic, Alphacrucis College, and Ms Kadi Taylor, Head - Strategic Engagement and Government Relations, Navitas.

Minister for Education and Youth Alan Tudge said the panel will provide advice on a range of important higher education issues.

“I have asked the panel to look at transparency in admissions, the quality of online and mixed-mode courses and reducing the regulatory burden on higher education providers,” Minister Tudge said.

“I also want them to ensure that we have appropriate standards in place to support student mental health and wellbeing and to meet the needs of students with a disability.

“The members of the panel bring a wealth of experience and insight into the delivery of higher education and I look forward to working with them over the next three years.

“I also want to thank outgoing panel members, including the outgoing Chair Professor Emeritus Ian O’Connor AC, for their service to higher education, which has been much appreciated.”