Release type: Media Release


New Chair of the Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority


The Hon Alan Tudge MP
Minister for Education and Youth

I am pleased to confirm that Derek Scott has been appointed Chair of the board of the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) for a three-year term.

Mr Scott brings significant professional expertise from his decades as a leader in the education sector, with a strong understanding of what affects teaching quality and student outcomes.

Derek has 20 years educational experience and is currently the Principal and CEO of Haileybury, one of the largest schools in Australia with campuses in Melbourne and the Northern Territory. In 2019, Mr Scott was named School Principal of the Year (Non-government).

He has served on the board of ACARA since 21 January 2021, and was a member of the Expert Panel of the Australian Government’s Quality Initial Teacher Education Review earlier this year.

Mr Scott’s appointment was agreed to at the Education Ministers Meeting on 12 November.

I congratulate Derek on his appointment and look forward to working with him, particularly at such an important time in our Review of the Australian Curriculum.

I also thank Belinda Robinson for the hard work and dedication she brought to the role of Chair during her time on the ACARA board.

ACARA develops and refines the national curriculum, delivers national assessment programs including NAPLAN, and reports on schooling in Australia.