Release type: Joint Media Release


More tertiary opportunities for regional students in Albany


The Hon Alan Tudge MP
Minister for Education and Youth
Mr Rick Wilson MP
Member for O'Connor

The Morrison Government has provided funding to establish the Great Southern Universities Centre (GSUC) in Albany, creating more opportunities for regional students to access tertiary education and training close to home.  

The Australian Government has committed more than $1.3 million to establish the centre - one of nine additional centres funded under the $74.2 million Regional University Centres program.

Minister for Education and Youth Alan Tudge said the new centre would provide vital services and infrastructure to regional students in South Western Australia, enabling them to access tertiary education opportunities without relocating.  

“We’re committed to ensuring that all Australian students have access to the best possible education, no matter where they live,” Minister Tudge said. 

“The Great Southern Universities Centre will offer important student support services like  study advice and academic support, as well as critical infrastructure like access to computers, high-speed internet and video-conferencing equipment. 

“This allows students from Albany and the surrounding region to study courses from any Australian tertiary education provider online without having to relocate to another city or interstate.” 

Federal Member for O’Connor Rick Wilson said the new Centre will empower students and local communities in Great Southern Western Australia.

“The Great Southern Universities Centre will help educate students in Albany, who can then go on to support business and industry in their local communities,” Mr Wilson said.

“Importantly, this centre will help to upskill and reskill students, producing job-ready graduates who can contribute to the region’s pandemic recovery.”

Great Southern Universities Centre is one of 26 centres established under the Regional University Centres Program, located in all states and the Northern Territory.

More information about Regional University Centres program can be found at: