Release type: Media Release


Australian higher education providers transition to new category standards


The Hon Alan Tudge MP
Minister for Education and Youth

The Morrison Government’s reforms to Australia’s higher education regulatory framework have enabled one provider to be registered as a new university and three others as University Colleges under new category standards.

The Tertiary Education and Quality Standards Agency (TEQSA) today announced:

  • NSW-based Avondale University College as Australia’s first new university in almost a decade

And three providers as University Colleges under a new category established as part of the revised Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2021.

  • The National Institute of Dramatic Arts (NIDA)

  • Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS)

  • Moore Theological College

Minister for Education and Youth, Alan Tudge said the new reforms solidified the regulation of our higher education sector which will continue to deliver for students, industry, and the community.

“Congratulations to all successful providers, it’s an outstanding accomplishment to be registered as an Australian University and I look forward to seeing the valuable contribution Avondale will make to student outcomes, research quality and greater community,” Minister Tudge said.

“Along with our new category standards, we’ve now rationalised the number of higher education provider categories from six to four and have put in place stronger research requirements for Australian universities to make sure their research meets our world standards.

“These new changes will support greater diversity within the sector, especially out in the regional markets and in specialised fields.”

To find out more information about the new category standards, please visit