Release type: Media Release


Young Australians reflect on Anzac spirit


The Hon Dan Tehan MP
Minister for Education

Australian students have reflected on the meaning of the Anzac spirit and Australia’s wartime history while taking part in a prestigious national history competition.

The winners and runners-up of the annual Simpson Prize were announced today. The Simpson Prize is a national history competition for students in Years 9 and 10 that encourages participants to explore the Anzac spirit.

The eight winners have won a trip to Europe to visit London, France and Belgium.

Minister for Education Dan Tehan said there were 1230 entries for the Simpson Prize this year.

“As a nation we must never forget the service and sacrifice of the Australians who served in defence of our nation, our values and our freedom,” Mr Tehan said.

“The original Anzacs landed at Gallipoli more than 100 years ago, and the Anzac spirit has continued in every man and woman who has served in our defence forces.

“It’s important the next generation of Australians reflect on our wartime experiences and I congratulate every student who entered the Simpson Prize and gained a better understanding of the Anzac tradition and its importance to our national identity.”

The Australian Government has supported the Simpson Prize since 1998. For more information on the Simpson Prize, visit: