Release type: Media Release


Record funding and better outcomes for WA students


The Hon Dan Tehan MP
Minister for Education

The Morrison Government has ensured better outcomes for Western Australian school students by delivering a record $32.3 billion of school funding and reforms to the education system, paid for by our plan for a stronger economy.

The Federal Government and the Western Australian Government today signed the National School Reform Agreement, enabling the Morrison Government to provide record funding to Government and non-Government schools in the state.

This agreement means schools in Western Australia will receive record Federal Government funding and an agreed framework to deliver the Gonski 2.0 improvements to the education system, so student outcomes improve.

"Our Government has delivered record school funding for state schools, for Catholic schools and for Independent schools and now the Morrison Government will work with our WA counterparts to ensure our record funding will improve student results," Mr Tehan said.

"The Morrison Government believes in better education outcomes. That’s why this agreement confirms that school reform must focus on driving individual student achievement and equipping teachers with the right tools in the classroom, no matter what school they attend.

"And with over 1.1 million jobs created over the past five years and continued strong economic growth, the Morrison Government can afford to pay for these essential education services that all Australians rely on.

"I thank the Western Australian Education Minister The Hon Sue Ellery for the co-operative way she has worked with the Federal Government to ensure that record funding flows to WA schools.

"I continue to negotiate bilateral agreements with the other states and territories in good faith."

The Morrison Government is providing $32.3 billion in recurrent funding to schools in Western Australia schools from 2018 to 2029. Western Australia is the third state to sign up to the National Agreement, after South Australia and New South Wales.

The agreement can be found at