Release type: Media Release


Applied technologies trial to be expanded nationally


The Hon Dan Tehan MP
Minister for Education

Australian workers will be ‘paid to learn’ if they take part in an innovative, nation-wide, multi-university course teaching the latest in disruptive technologies and engineering.

The Morrison Government today announced it would provide $3.6 million to trial the expansion of a one-year Diploma in Applied Technologies for 120 participants across six universities next year.

Minister for Education Dan Tehan said diploma students would be drawn from small and medium enterprises in key manufacturing ‘pipeline’ industries.

"The way we work is changing, driven by automation and technological advances, such as advanced manufacturing, increasing data capacity, robotics and automation," Mr Tehan said.

"This diploma will build a skilled workforce in the manufacturing sector that will be vital to Australia’s future productivity.

"This research collaboration matches industry with the knowledge and research firepower of Australian universities. The productive capacity of our nation into the future will rely on educated workers, able to access innovation and research, to drive growth and opportunity.

"If we get this right, the productivity improvements the sector can deliver will be worth $2.7 billion to GDP per annum. Helping young Australians to succeed at gaining employment will also grow Australia’s productivity and the economy overall.

"This project is part of the Morrison Government’s plan to encourage greater collaboration between universities and businesses on research innovation and workforce preparation. The research done by our universities can lead to the development of new products and innovations that drive job growth, business opportunities and productivity gains."

The diploma was developed by Swinburne University of Technology and Siemens. It will be expanded through University of Western Australia, University of Tasmania, University of South Australia, University of Technology Sydney, and University of Queensland.