Release type: Joint Media Release


New Director of the Workplace Gender Equality Agency


Senator the Hon Eric Abetz
Leader of the Government in the Senate
Minister for Employment
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service
Senator for Tasmania
Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash
Minister for Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business

The Government has today announced the appointment of former BHP executive Elizabeth (Libby) Lyons as the Director of the Workplace Gender Equality Agency.

Ms Lyons is currently based in Adelaide, previously heading BHP Billiton’s corporate affairs for its Olympic Dam project. Previously she was the General Manager of External Relations at Atlas Iron and has also held senior public affairs roles at CITIC Pacific Mining, Alcoa Australia and the Western Power Corporation. Recently she was also the Executive Chairman of the Perth-based disability charity Kalparrin. The Governor-General today appointed Ms Lyons who will commence her five year appointment in late October.

“Ms Lyons has extensive experience including in management, government and public policy. She will play a key role in driving change through working with employers to improve women’s workforce participation”, said Senator Abetz.

“The Government is looking forward to working with Ms Lyons to try and reduce the gender pay gap and to raise awareness of strategies that can assist employers,” Senator Cash said.

“Ms Lyons is a fantastic appointment who will bring an extensive set of skills to this important role.”

“The Agency has an important role in helping the Government achieve the G20 target of increasing female workforce participation by 25 per cent by 2025.”

The Workplace Gender Equality Agency is an Australian Government statutory agency charged with promoting and improving gender equality in Australian workplaces. Non-public sector employers with 100 or more employees are required to report to the Agency annually against gender equality indicators.

The Government has thanked Ms Louise McSorley for acting as Director after the resignation of Ms Helen Conway in March this year.