Release type: Joint Media Release


Assistance extended for flood and storm-affected communities in New South Wales


The Hon Stuart Robert MP
Minister for Employment, Workforce, Skills, Small and Family Business
Senator the Hon Anne Ruston
Minister for Families and Social Services

The Australian Government is extending the period that mutual obligation requirements will be lifted for communities affected by flooding and storms in New South Wales.

These contingency arrangements, which were due to expire on Tuesday 6 April, will be extended until Sunday, 11 April 2021 inclusive.

This will cover 64 affected Local Government Areas in New South Wales declared eligible for the Australian Government’s Disaster Recovery Payment and Disaster Recovery Allowance.

No job seeker in the affected areas will face payment suspension or financial penalties for failing to meet their mutual obligation requirements, such as not being able to attend appointments or activities.

Job seekers are still being encouraged to remain connected to employment services to ensure they are supported to access the full range of assistance including mental health services, if required.

These arrangements will apply to job seekers in jobactive, Online Employment Services, Disability Employment Services and participants in ParentsNext.

More information about mutual obligations requirements can be found at

Current Local Government Areas eligible for the Australian Government’s Disaster Recovery Payment and Disaster Recovery Allowance:

  • Armidale
  • Ballina
  • Bathurst
  • Bega Valley
  • Bellingen
  • Blacktown
  • Blue Mountains
  • Brewarrina
  • Byron
  • Cabonne
  • Camden
  • Campbelltown
  • Canterbury Bankstown
  • Central Coast
  • Cessnock
  • Clarence Valley
  • Cobar
  • Coffs Harbour
  • Cumberland
  • Dungog
  • Eurobodalla
  • Fairfield
  • Gilgandra
  • Glen Innes Severn
  • Gunnedah
  • Gwydir
  • Hawkesbury
  • Hornsby
  • Inner West
  • Inverell
  • Kempsey
  • Ku-ring-gai
  • Kyogle
  • Lachlan
  • Lake Macquarie
  • Lismore
  • Lithgow
  • Liverpool
  • Liverpool Plains
  • Maitland
  • Mid-Coast
  • Moree Plains
  • Narrabri
  • Nambucca Valley
  • Newcastle
  • Northern Beaches
  • Parramatta
  • Penrith
  • Port Macquarie-Hastings
  • Port Stephens
  • Oberon
  • Orange
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang
  • Richmond Valley
  • Shoalhaven
  • Singleton
  • Sutherland
  • Tenterfield
  • The Hills
  • Tweed
  • Walcha
  • Walgett
  • Wingecarribee
  • Wollondilly