Release type: Media Release


New AITSL board appointed


The Hon Christopher Pyne MP
Minister for Education and Training
Leader of the House

The Minister for Education and Training, the Hon Christopher Pyne MP, has welcomed new appointments to the Board of the Australian Institute of Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL).

“The Australian Government is absolutely committed to improving the quality of teacher training – the most important factor affecting student performance,” Mr Pyne said.

“AITSL plays a pivotal role in implementing the Government’s response to the Teacher Education Ministerial Advisory Group report Action Now: Classroom Ready Teachers.

“As part of the 2015-16 Budget, we are providing $16.9 million over the next four years to implement the Government’s response to the TEMAG report to improve teacher education in Australia.

“It’s also critical that the AITSL Board has the right mix of skills and expertise to deliver this very important work.

“In recognition of this, three new Directors with expertise in key areas, including teacher education, course accreditation and school leadership have been appointed to the Board.

“Professor John Hattie will continue in his role as Chair of the Board, while Mr John Fleming will remain in his role as Deputy Chair.

“While the focus of the new board is on skills and expertise, AITSL will also continue to consult broadly across the sector with peak bodies as it implements changes to initial teacher education.”

The new AITSL Board, as of 2 June 2015, is:



Professor John Hattie


Mr John Fleming

Deputy Chair

Dr Michele Bruniges

Leadership and management of government school systems

Mr Rob Nairn

School leadership

Dr Geoff Newcombe

Leadership and management of non- government school systems

Mr Stephen Elder

Governance, including audit, risk and finance

Ms Melanie Saba

Regulation and accreditation of initial teacher education courses

Professor Tania Aspland

Initial teacher education

Mr Trevor Fletcher

Teacher practitioner

Dr Jennifer Buckingham

Public policy

Mr Tony Cook

Government liaison