Release type: Media Release


New AIATSIS board members appointed


The Hon Christopher Pyne MP
Minister for Education and Training
Leader of the House

Minister for Education and Training, the Hon Christopher Pyne MP, today announced the appointment of five new members to the Council of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS).
“The Institute holds the preeminent collection of Australian Indigenous cultural material,” Minister Pyne said.
“Throughout its rich history, AIATSIS has demonstrated a continuing commitment to providing Indigenous communities and researchers from around the world with access to this unique heritage and gives crucial advice to industry and government.
“These new appointees will bring added cultural, financial, legal and research expertise to the AIATSIS Council. I am sure that the Council will benefit from their contributions, talent and expertise. 
“The Institute’s collection of material is the largest and most extensive related to Indigenous Australia in the world.  The collection includes rare film, audio recordings, costumes, scripts, diaries, press materials, field notes, genealogies, letters and drawings,” Minister Pyne said.
These appointments are for a four-year term. 
The new board members are:
•    Ms Donisha Duff: National Manager, Indigenous Affairs at Kidney Health Australia. Ms Duff was recognised in 2014 as the NAIDOC Scholar of the Year. 
•    Ms Rachel Perkins: Founder and managing director of Blackfella Films whose notable body of work is a tribute to her work as producer, screen writer and director, including her film “Bran Nue Dae”.
•    Professor Cindy Shannon: Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Indigenous Education at the University of Queensland. Professor Shannon is renowned for her leading contribution to the development of Indigenous health policy.
•    Ms Jodie Sizer: Principal of PwC Indigenous Consulting. Ms Sizer was named as Victorian Aboriginal Young Achiever in 2000, when she was working as an accounting auditor.
•    Mr Geoffrey Winters: Associate lawyer with Clyde & Co and Director of Design Your Future, a not-for-profit organisation that provides community-building art workshops for young Indigenous women.
“The new council members will join Chair, Professor Mick Dodson AM and the rest of the council to continue the important work.
“I would like to thank the outgoing Council members Ms Neva Collings, Mr Dana Ober, Ms June Oscar AO, Ms Robynne Quiggan and Dr Mark Wenitong for their significant contribution to AIATSIS during their time on the Council,” Minister Pyne said.