Release type: Media Release


New appointments to the Fair Work Commission


The Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP
Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations
Minister for Women

The Coalition Government has appointed six new Deputy Presidents and a Commissioner to the Fair Work Commission.

Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations, the Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP, said that the appointments will ensure that the Fair Work Commission continues to play a vital role ensuring our workplace relations system operates in a fair and transparent manner and promote a constructive and cooperative environment for Australians in the workplace.

“These additional appointments will give the Fair Work Commission the ability to approve pay increases and better working conditions more quickly for Australian workers,” Minister O’Dwyer said.

“The appointees bring an impressive breadth of knowledge, qualifications and experience in workplace relations to the Fair Work Commission.”

“This group of appointees is highly qualified and well regarded in their respective professions. I am confident the appointees will bring comprehensive expertise and valuable skills to the Fair Work Commission,” Minister O’Dwyer concluded.

The Government has made the following appointments:

  • Mr Tony Saunders, Deputy President
  • Mr Nicholas Lake, Deputy President
  • Mr Gerard Boyce, Deputy President
  • Mr Bryce Cross, Deputy President
  • Ms Amanda Mansini, Deputy President
  • Ms Janine Young, Deputy President
  • Ms Leyla Yilmaz, Commissioner

The terms of these appointments are from the date of commencement until the appointees reach the statutory retirement age of 65 or they resign.

Background Information
Appointees to the Fair Work Commission

Mr Tony Saunders
Mr Saunders has been a Fair Work Commissioner since his appointment in 2015. Before that, he was a Barrister specialising in workplace relations litigation including employment claims, industrial disputes, discrimination and work health and safety. Mr Saunders previously worked as a Senior Associate in the Litigation Department at Allens law firm (now Allens Linklaters). Mr Saunders’ appointment will commence on 10 December 2018.

Mr Nicholas Lake
Mr Lake is an independent consultant with more than 30 years’ experience in human resources, most recently as the Executive Director of Human Resources for the Queensland Department of Health. He previously held senior Human Resources positions, both in Australia and internationally, in organisations including BHP Coal, Incitec Pivot Limited, ANZ Banking Corporation and Philip Morris International. Mr Lake’s appointment will commence on 7 January 2019.

Mr Gerard Boyce
Mr Boyce is a barrister with more than 20 years’ experience in employment law and workplace relations. Before being admitted to the Bar in 2006, he held various senior workplace relations roles in the mining, building, electrical and aged care industries. His experience includes roles as New South Wales State Manager of the Australian Mines and Metals Association and Industrial Relations Manager for the New South Wales branch of the National Electrical and Communications Association. Mr Boyce’s appointment will commence on 14 January 2019.

Mr Bryce Cross
Mr Cross has been a barrister at Frederick Jordan Chambers since his admission to the New South Wales Bar in 1997. Between 1993 and 1997, he was an Industrial Advocate and Corporate Head Solicitor at the Chamber of Manufactures of New South Wales / Australian Business Limited (now the NSW Business Chamber Limited). He was admitted to the Supreme Court of NSW in 1991 as a solicitor. Mr Cross has been an Industrial Officer at the NSW Nurses’ Association and the Commonwealth Steamship Owners’ Association, and has also been employed by the Australian Gaslight Company. Mr Cross’ appointment will commence on 1 February 2019.

Ms Amanda Mansini
Ms Mansini has been the Director of Workplace Relations and Legal Counsel for the Australian Mines and Metals Association since 2016 and was the Manager of Workplace Relations for four years before that. Prior to joining AMMA, Ms Mansini was a Senior Associate and Solicitor at Freehills (now Herbert Smith Freehills). Between 2006 and 2008, she was an Associate to Senior Deputy President Peter Richards and Commissioner Paula Spencer in the predecessor bodies to the Fair Work Commission. Ms Mansini’s appointment will commence on 4 February 2019.

Ms Janine Young
Ms Young has been a Partner at Corrs Chambers Westgarth specialising in employment and labour law since 2011, having worked as an employment and labour law specialist with Corrs since 2007. Prior to this Ms Young was a workplace relations lawyer at Mallesons Stephen Jaques. She was admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor to the Supreme Court of Victoria in 1997. Ms Young’s appointment will commence on 11 March 2019.

Ms Leyla Yilmaz
Ms Yilmaz is the Principal of LLY Business Consultancy Pty Ltd. From 2015 to mid-2018, she was Deputy Executive Director of the Victorian Automobile Chamber of Commerce (VACC), an employer organisation representing the interests of predominantly small businesses in the automotive industry. Between 1997 and 2015, she was the VACC’s Industrial Relations Manager and then General Manager of Industrial Relations, Occupational Health and Safety Education and Training. Ms Yilmaz was on the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry Council (ACCI) from 2008 to 2018 and a member of ACCI’s Workplace Policy Committee for 25 years. Ms Yilmaz’s appointment will commence on 18 February 2019.