Release type: Media Release


Top University teachers win Prime Minister's Award

A history lecturer and a Professor of Law were today recognised for their exceptional work after being presented with the Prime Minister’s Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year.

The Minister for Employment Participation, Brendan O’Connor, presented Associate Professor Marnie Hughes Warrington and Professor Stephen Barkoczy with their $50,000 prizes at a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra.

Associate Professor Hughes-Warrington is a lecturer in the Department of Modern History at Macquarie University and Professor Barkoczy is a Professor of Law at Monash University.

The Australian Learning and Teaching Council Awards also recognised 21 winners of Teaching Excellence Awards and 10 awards in Programmes that Enhance Learning.

Emeritus Professor Adrian Lee and Emeritus Professor Lesley Parker AM both received the Career Achievement Award for their achievements in learning and teaching.

“These awards recognise Australia’s most outstanding university teachers and innovative programs that enhance student learning,” Mr O’Connor said.

“Through the Australian Learning and Teaching Council and particularly the teaching awards, the profile and prestige of university teaching has been raised while university teachers are acknowledged and rewarded for their important role within our community.

“The importance of these teachers’ contribution to Australian higher education as well as the impact they have on their students cannot be overestimated.”

A full list of winners can be viewed at