Release type: Media Release


Awards recognise innovation in Safety At Work


Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins
Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Workplace Relations

An iPhone application for first aid training and a management plan to combat driver fatigue were two of the innovative solutions to workplace safety announced last night at the 6th annual Safe Work Australia Awards.

Speaking at the awards, Parliamentary Secretary for Workplace Relations, Senator Jacinta Collins, congratulated all the entries and winners for the range of innovative and unique safety solutions.

“I was delighted to attend the Awards last night and meet so many inspirational Australians, who are making a real difference in work health and safety,” Senator Collins said.

“The winners of last night’s awards should be proud of their achievements and their commitment to the health and wellbeing of their workers.”

Winners included the CSIRO for a groundbreaking solution to reduce its employees’ exposure to liquid nitrogen, and the Ballina Bypass Alliance, who implemented a broad spectrum health and safety management system that improved safety across the organisation’s worksites.

“I was particularly impressed with the individual contributions to workplace health and safety.

“It was inspiring to see so many individuals taking initiative and helping to create a safer workplace through their own actions.”

Now in its sixth year, the annual Safe Work Australia Awards showcase the achievements of Australians, who have made safety at work a top priority.

The national awards recognise individuals and organisations, who have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to work health and safety through action in their respective workplaces.

Winners of the 6th annual Safe Work Australia Awards

Category 1Best Workplace Health and Safety Management System1 a) private sectorWinner: Ballina Bypass Alliance (NSW)Highly commended: Visionstream (SRCC)Highly commended: Tasmanian Alkaloids (Tas)

1 b) public sectorWinner: Courts Administration Authority (SA)

Category 2Best Solution to an Identified Workplace Health and Safety IssueWinner: CSIRO (SRCC)

Category 3Best Workplace Health and Safety Practice/s in a Small BusinessWinner: Clifford & Co Response Services (Tas)Highly commended: Saints Tyre & Auto (SA)

Category 4Best Individual Contribution to Workplace Health and Safety

4 a) an employee, such as a health and safety representativeWinner: Glen Barber, Loy Yang Power (Vic)Highly commended: Frank Naso, Eldercare Incorporated (SA)

4 b) an outstanding contribution by an OHS manager or a person with responsibility for OHS as part of their dutiesWinner: Daniel Germany, Essential Energy (NSW)Highly commended: Danny Norton, Sinclair Knight Merz (WA)