Release type: Media Release


Winners of the 2008 Australian Training Awards

Minister for Education, Julia Gillard today congratulated the winners of the 2008 Australian Training Awards which were held in Darwin last night.

The Australian Training Awards are the peak national awards for vocational education and training, recognising innovation and excellence in the training sector.

The finalists and winners of the Australian Training Awards are apprentices, trainees and organisations that showed outstanding dedication to vocational skills development.

Finalists were drawn from across Australia, allowing students, apprentices and trainees to be acknowledged for their career and study achievements. Organisations who achieved excellence in the provision of nationally recognised training to employees/students were also recognised.

For more information, including links to more details of the finalists, please visit List of finalists attached.

Deputy Prime Minister’s Press Office: 02 6277 7758DEEWR Media: Non-media queries: 1300 363 079

The winners for 2008:

Student categories:

Stella Axarlis Australian School-based Apprentice of the Year - Melinda Stephens from Mansfield in Victoria who works in clothing production.

Vocational Student of the Year– Jill Morris from Dubbo in New South Wales who works in community welfare.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year– Michael Donovan from Gerringong in New South Wales who works in engineering fabrications.

Australian Apprentice (Trainee) of the Year- Matter Machar from Dandenong in Victoria who works in youth work and protective care.

Australian Apprentice of the Year– Rachael Keiley from Canberra who works in plumbing.

Organisational categories:

Prime Minister’s Small Business of the Year– Verriers Engineering Services from Bassendean in Western Australia.

Australian Training Initiative– Group Training Northern Territory from Darwin, Northern Territory.

VET in Schools Excellence- Central West TAFE from Geraldton in Western Australia

Small Training Provider of the Year- Australian College of Training from Perth in Western Australia

Large Training Provider of the Year– Wodonga Institute of TAFE from Wondonga in Victoria

Employer of the Year– Weir Minerals Australia from Sydney in New South Wales