Release type: Media Release


Recognising teaching excellence – 2009 award winners


The Hon Julia Gillard MP
Minister for Education. Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
Minister for Social Inclusion
Deputy Prime Minister

On the eve of World Teachers Day, the Minister for Education, Julia Gillard has presented 64 Australian teachers, principals and school support staff with awards for teaching excellence, in a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra today.

Teacher quality is the single greatest in-school influence on student engagement and achievement.

The Australian Awards for Teaching Excellence showcases the pivotal role of teachers and school leaders play in delivering quality education to Australia’s young people.

As part of the Education Revolution, the Rudd Government is investing $550m in quality teaching and school leadership.

The Smarter Schools National Partnership on Quality Teaching targets the critical points in the teacher lifecycle to ensure that we attract, train, place, develop and retain quality teachers and school leaders.

The Rudd Government is working cooperatively with State and Territory governments to a comprehensive suite of initiatives aimed at:

  • Attracting the best graduates to teaching through additional pathways;
  • Improving quality of teacher training in partnership with universities;
  • Developing national standards and teacher registration to aid teacher mobility and retention;
  • Developing and enhancing the skills and knowledge of teachers and school leaders throughout their careers;
  • Improving retention by rewarding quality teachers and school leaders; and
  • Improving the quality and availability of teacher workforce data.

The Australian Awards for Teaching Excellence recognise the dedication and commitment of teachers like Mr Adrian Camm, a Maths and Science teacher from Mooroopna Secondary College.

The special award for Excellence in Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) was presented to Victorian teacher, Mr Adrian Camm.

Mr Camm received the special award for Excellence in Information and Communication Technologies for his positive contribution to online learning. Mr Camm developed a virtual learning community in which students and teachers can interact with each other and experts, anytime, anywhere.

The Minister congratulates all recipients on their awards. The Minister thanks all Australian teachers for their enthusiasm and dedication to teaching which contributes to a positive learning experience for students.

The full list of winners is attached below. Citations and photographs are available from

Winners of the 2009 Australian Awards for Teaching Excellence

Australian Capital Territory
Philip Brown Excellence by a Teacher Black Mountain School
Coralie McAlister Excellence by a Principal Majura Primary School

New South Wales
Alicia Green Excellence by a Beginning Teacher The Canobolas Rural Technology High School
Kelli McGraw Excellence by a Beginning Teacher Macquarie Fields High School

Coral Connor Excellence by a Teacher Northern Beaches Christian School
Gae Masters Excellence by a Teacher Richmond River High School
Christopher Mills Excellence by a Teacher Richmond River High School
Kimberly Pericles Excellence by a Teacher Belmore South Public School

Melissa Gould-Drakeley Excellence in teacher leadership – Best National Macarthur Anglican School
Stacey Quince Excellence in teacher leadership Campbelltown Performing Arts High School
Kenneth Silburn Excellence in teacher leadership Casula High School
Vicki Treble Excellence by a Principal Balgowlah North Public School
Ian Stevenson Excellence by a Support Staff Member St Patrick's College Strathfield NSW
Paul Taylor Excellence by a Support Staff Member Dubbo College Senior Campus

Northern Territory
Louise Corrigan Excellence by a Teacher Karama Primary School

Marion Guppy Excellence by a Principal Darwin High School

Leigh Williams Excellence by a Beginning Teacher Christian Outreach College Brisbane

Gregory Bland Excellence by a Teacher Brisbane Girls Grammar School
Sarah Chapman Excellence by a Teacher Townsville State High School
Libby Gaedtke Excellence by a Teacher Xavier Catholic College
Andrew Lock Excellence by a Teacher Tallebudgera Beach Outdoor Education School, Currumbin Community Farm Campus

Lissa Hodson Excellence in teacher leadership Queensland Academy for Health Sciences
Clayton Carnes Excellence by a Principal Hermit Park State School

Colin John Excellence by a Support Staff Member Bald Hills State School

South Australia
Tony Parsons Excellence by a Beginning Teacher Seaford 6-12 School

Greg Hackett Excellence by a Teacher Minlaton District School

Katherine Fisher Excellence in Teacher Leadership Aberfoyle Park High School
Marion MacKenzie Excellence in Teacher Leadership Seaford 6-12 School

Lisa Brock Excellence by a Support Staff Member – Best National Australian Technical College - Spencer Gulf & Outback

Rosie Ellgar Excellence by a Support Staff Member Youth Education Centre Magill SA
Kim Giannoni Excellence by a Support Staff Member Salisbury High School
Anne Stewart Excellence by a Support Staff Member Banksia Park International High School

Jane Dobson Excellence by a Beginning Teacher – Best National Claremont College

Christiane Conesa-Bostock Excellence by a Teacher Rosny College

Adrian Camm Excellence by a Teacher and Excellence in ICT Award Mooroopna Secondary College

Anne Mirtschin Excellence by a Teacher Hawkesdale P12 College

Loretta Hamilton Excellence by a Principal Courtenay Gardens Primary School
Anne Hulett Excellence by a Principal Lalor West Primary School
Ruby Toombs Excellence by a Principal Springvale South Primary School

Western Australia
Marli van der Merwe Excellence by a Beginning Teacher Ellenbrook Christian College

Tracey Anthony Excellence by a Teacher – Best National Aranmore Catholic College

Jessine Bonzas Excellence by a Teacher Safety Bay Senior High School
Louis Cheeseman Excellence by a Teacher Mindarie Senior College
Charissa Quartermain Excellence by a Teacher Queen of Apostles Primary School

Andrew Syme Excellence by a Principal – Best National Scotch College WA

Winners of the 2009 Australian Awards for Teaching Excellence in the category of:Excellence by a school and its community

Majella Catholic Primary School – Best National WA

Highly commended schools:

Dorothy Waide Centre for Early Learning NSW
Hornsby Girls High School NSW
Key College - Youth of the Streets NSW
Kingswood High School NSW
St Leo's Catholic College NSW
Walcha Central School NSW
Burnside State High School QLD
Immanuel Lutheran College QLD
Jandowae Prep - 10 State School QLD
Norman Park State School QLD
Sandgate District State High School QLD
Orroroo Area School SA
Brighton Grammar School & Firbank Grammar School VIC
MacKillop College VIC
Yea High School VIC
Orange Grove Primary School WA
Presbyterian Ladies' College - Perth WA
Shenton College WA