Release type: Media Release


Future agreed for North Queensland ATC

Joint Media Release with Senator Jan McLucas, Senator for Queensland

The Minister for Education, Julia Gillard, today announced that the Australian Technical College (ATC) – North Queensland will expand services offered from its Douglas campus in 2009.

Senator for Queensland, Jan McLucas welcomed the announcement and the opportunities available to students in North Queensland to start trades training in skills shortage areas while they are still at school.

The College will remain a non-government independent school, a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) and a Supervising Registered Training Organisation (SRTO) and will continue to operate from its purpose-built campus.

The College will expand opportunities for students to enter the trades by offering a full Certificate III apprenticeship pathway commencing in Years 11 and 12 in skills shortage vocations.

Training will be offered in automotive, building & construction, electro-technology, commercial cookery and metals & engineering vocations. Students will also gain the Queensland Certificate of Education.

This announcement fulfils the Australian Government’s commitment to better integrate ATCs with existing education and training systems in QLD, to train more students in the trades and build Australia’s skills base.

The collaboration of the Australian and Queensland Governments, the College and local stakeholders has resulted in a locally designed outcome for the North Queensland region, offering the best education and trade training options to their students.

The Government has consulted local stakeholders, all education and training sectors and state and territory governments regarding future arrangements for each of the 24 ATCs.

Announcements will be made regarding individual colleges as negotiations are finalised in the coming months.

As well as better integrating ATCs into existing education and training systems, the Australian Government is also delivering $2.5 billion for Trade Training Centres in Schools that will benefit all Australian secondary schools.