Release type: Media Release


Experts to develop the Early Years Learning Framework

Joint media release with The Hon Maxine McKew MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education and Child Care.

A consortium of early childhood experts led by Charles Sturt University (CSU) will develop the national Early Years Learning Framework to improve outcomes and opportunities for children during their critical early years.

The Minister for Education, Julia Gillard, and the Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education and Child Care, Maxine McKew, today announced that the Rudd Government will provide $700 000 to the CSU Consortium to develop the framework.

The Early Years Learning Framework is part of the Rudd Government’s plan to develop a world-class system of integrated early childhood education and care.

The Framework will guide early childhood educators in developing quality early childhood programs. It will also inform parents, families and the early childhood workforce about the importance of young children’s learning.

The Early Years Learning Framework will recognise the importance of play-based learning, communication and language, including early literacy and numeracy as well as emotional and social development.

It will also set out the broad parameters, principles and outcomes required to support and enhance children’s learning from birth to five years of age as well as their transition to school.

The CSU Consortium is made up of early childhood academics, practitioners, service providers, peak body representatives, professional organisations and consultants.

These experts have an in-depth understanding of the early childhood sector and extensive experience in working with children, families, early childhood educators and other key stakeholders.

The experience, passion and skills of CSU Consortium members will ensure a Framework that is relevant, accessible and valuable to the profession.

The Framework will underpin the Rudd Government’s Universal Access initiative and will be linked to the National Quality Standards which will ensure consistent high quality early childhood education and care across sectors and jurisdictions.

The development of the Early Years Learning Framework is an important step towards realising the Government’s vision of high-quality, integrated and accessible education and care for young children.

The Charles Sturt University (CSU) Consortium members list is attached.


CSU Consortium members

The CSU Consortium comprises the following members:

Professor Jennifer Sumsion – Charles Sturt University (project leader)

Associate Professor Linda Harrison – Charles Sturt University (project leader)

Dr Jo Ailwood – Queensland University of Technology

Dr Leonie Arthur – University of Western Sydney

Sally Barnes – Flinders University

Associate Professor Donna Berthelsen – Queensland University of Technology

Carol Burgess – Charles Sturt University

Sandra Cheeseman – Macquarie University

Kaye Colmer – Lady Gowrie Child Centre, Adelaide

Dr Robyn Dolby – Independent consultant

Associate Professor Lyn Fasoli – Batchelor College

Dr Joy Goodfellow – Independent consultant

Miriam Giugni – Independent consultantAssociate Professor Christine Johnston – University of Western Sydney

Veronica Johns – Batchelor College

Anne Kennedy - Independent consultant

Marie Lewis - Independent consultantProfessor Tom Lowrie – Charles Sturt University

Dr Felicity McArdle – Queensland University of TechnologyDr Michelle Ortlipp – Charles Sturt University

Dr Marina Papic – Macquarie University

Frances Press – Charles Sturt University

Melissa Smith – Charles Sturt University

Anne Stonehouse – Independent consultant

Associate Professor Jane Torr – Macquarie University

Rebecca Watson – SDN Children’s Services

Dr Peter Whiteman – Macquarie UniversityAssociate Professor Christine Woodrow – University of Western Sydney