Release type: Media Release


Education Investment Fund Board Appointed

Joint Media Release with the Hon Senator Kim Carr Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

The Minister for Education, Julia Gillard, and the Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, Senator Kim Carr, today announced the appointment of the Education Investment Fund (EIF) Advisory Board.

The EIF is one of the three nation building funds announced in the 2008–09 Budget and is the centrepiece of the Australian Government’s new approach to transforming Australia’s tertiary education and research capacity for the future.

The EIF Advisory Board will advise the Australian Government on making grants from the EIF and will be responsible for ensuring rigorous evaluation of all EIF proposals.

Projects can only be funded from the EIF following advice from the Board that the project satisfies the EIF evaluation criteria.

Mr Philip Clark AMhas been appointed as Chair of the Board.

Mr Clark is a prominent member of Australia’s business community and has an excellent understanding of Australia’s education and research sectors. His experience, coupled with his leadership and enthusiasm, will be invaluable to the success of this important education initiative.

Other appointees to the Board include:

  • Dr Cherrell Hirst AO
  • Dr Michael Vertigan AC
  • Professor Penny Sackett, Australian Government Chief Scientist
  • Ms Lisa Paul PSM, Secretary of the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations
  • Mr Mark Paterson AO, Secretary of the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

Dr Cherrell Hirstis a medical doctor and was a leading practitioner in the area of breast cancer diagnosis. Dr Hirst was awarded the Centenary Medal for distinguished service to education and medicine, and was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1998 for service to education as Chancellor of the Queensland University of Technology and to medicine, in particular women's health through the promotion of mammographic screening for the early detection of breast cancer.

Dr Michael Vertiganhas experience in the public, higher education, philanthropy and business sectors. A former Chancellor of the University of Tasmania, he previously was Secretary of several Victorian and Tasmanian government departments. Dr Vertigan was made a Companion of the Order of Australia for service as a community leader in public administration, through development of far reaching fiscal policy reform; in business and industry, through focusing on strategic investment for sustainable economic growth; and in education through university governance.

The Rudd Government congratulates Board on their appointments and wishes them well in their deliberations.