Release type: Media Release


Dare to Lead - Making the Difference, 2008 Indigenous Education Awards

Minister for Education, Julia Gillard today announced outstanding leadership awards in Indigenous education for 16 schools from across Australia.These 16 schools are making a real difference creating strong ties between the schools and their communities.The achievements of these schools include improving attendance for year 10 to year 12 students, school enrolments and graduation rates have increased, a reflection of the schools hard work and dedication.The Dare to Lead: Excellence in Leadership in Indigenous Education Awards, is a national project that helps to improve the educational outcomes of Aboriginal students.The program acknowledges schools that: • excel in leadership;• engage with their local Aboriginal community; • have shown improvements in education targets.The Minister congratulated the five High Achievement Award winning schools who will receive a plaque, certificate and a cash prize of $6000, and the 11 Achievement Award schools who will be sent a Certificate and a cash prize of $1000. The Rudd Government has made a commitment to halving the gap in literacy, numeracy and employment outcomes and opportunities for Aboriginal children within the decade.

Four in ten Aboriginal students stay at school until year 12, 35 per cent lower than for non-Aboriginal students.

The Rudd Government is working to close the gap and ensure more Aboriginal children get a better education.

An 18-member selection panel consisting of school leaders and Indigenous educators from every state and territory plus representatives of the four peak principals associations evaluated all of the 2008 Dare to Lead applications.The list of award winners is attached.

2008 Dare to Lead Award recipients

Five High Achievement award winners:

• Aranmore Catholic College (WA)• Menindee Central School (NSW)• Swan View Senior High School in partnership with Governor Stirling and Lockridge Senior High Schools (WA)• Wiltja Program at Woodville High School (SA)• Yule Brook Community College (WA)

Eleven Achievement awards winners:

• Ashmont Public School (NSW)• Barcaldine State School (QLD)• Campbelltown Performing Arts High School (NSW)• Challis Early Childhood Education Centre (WA)• Cowandilla Primary School (SA)• East Kenwick Primary School (WA)• Glossop High School (SA)• Karama School (NT)• Muswellbrook South Public School (NSW)• Point Pearce Aboriginal School (SA)• Table Cape Primary School (TAS)