Release type: Media Release


Congratulations to the winners of the 2008 Australian Student Prize


The Hon Julia Gillard MP
Minister for Education. Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
Minister for Social Inclusion
Deputy Prime Minister

The Minister for Education, Julia Gillard, today announced the winners of the Australian Student Prize for 2008.

This Prize is awarded to 500 of Australia’s top students who, based on their 2008 Year 12 results, have achieved excellence in their studies and are supported by recommendations made by their State or Territory Education Minister.

This year 126 students are receiving the prize in Victoria, 36 from SA, 108 from Queensland, 154 from NSW, 11 from Tasmania, 10 from the ACT, 51 from WA and four in the NT.

Each winner receives a $2000 cash award and a certificate of excellence from the Australian Government.

The Prize is also being awarded this year to members of the 2008 Australian Mathematics and Science Olympiad teams who won medals in Mathematics, Informatics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology.

These annual awards were initiated in 1990 by the former Minister for Education, John Dawkins.

In association with the Australian Student Prize, the recently announced Australian Vocational Student Prize is another important initiative aimed at recognising student achievement.

The Australian Vocation Prize awards up to 500 students each year who display excellent skills while undertaking a vocational education and training program or an Australian school-based Apprenticeship.

Minister Gillard congratulated all the winners of this high calibre award, and commended them on their achievements.

A full list of winners from across Australia is available at