Release type: Media Release


2020 Summit: Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Endeavour Awards


The Hon Julia Gillard MP
Minister for Education. Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
Minister for Social Inclusion
Deputy Prime Minister

The 2020 Summit, the Youth Summit and the Schools Summit all recognised the importance of Australia being an Asia-literate country.

In response to this the Government is committing $14.9m over four years to deliver a new scholarship scheme: the Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Endeavour Awards.

This commitment builds on the Rudd Government’s $62.4 million National Asian Languages and Studies in Schools program.

Forty scholarships will be awarded annually to Australian university students, twenty at undergraduate level and twenty at postgraduate level.

The scholarships will allow the recipients to undertake one year of study in Asia, which can be followed by an internship or work placement also in Asia.

Ten scholarships will also be awarded to the top international Endeavour Postgraduate Awards scholars at PhD level from the priority Asian countries each year to study in Australia, with a maximum of two for any one country.

This scheme will provide scholarships for the best and brightest university students from Australia and Asia.

In the first three program years the following countries have been identified as priorities for both incoming and outgoing scholars: China (including Hong Kong and Macau SARs); India; Indonesia; Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Republic of Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.

International Education is Australia’s third largest export industry, valued at approximately $14.2 billion per annum. The Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Endeavour Awards will strengthen Australia’s international education industry and enhance Australia’s reputation as a quality education provider.

These scholarships will build deep and enduring links with Australia’s neighbours with long term benefits for trade and security, as well as enriching all our cultures.

Applications for the first round of the Awards will open from May 2009 for scholarships commencing in 2010.