Release type: Media Release


Expanded Planning Group to drive Y20 Summit


The Hon Senator Scott Ryan
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education today announced four new members to the Y20 Planning Group.

Senator Ryan is pleased to announce Ms Rebecca Healy, Mr Jordan O’Reilly, Mr Peter Gregory and Mr Josh Zwar as the four additional members to the Y20 Planning Group.

They will join ongoing members Ms Holly Ransom, Mr Scott Limbrick, Mr Ehon Chan and Ms Yassmin Abdel-Magied.

Senator Ryan said “The four additional members bring a range of experiences and expertise to the Planning Group that are suited to the tasks ahead and the broad themes of the Y20, particularly the focus on youth unemployment and sustainable economic growth. The new members will add additional resources to the group following several departures and as the Summit approaches.”

Senator Ryan is also pleased to confirm the appointment of Ms Holly Ransom as the Chair of the Planning Group. Ms Ransom has been acting as Interim Chair since the resignation of Mr Benson Saulo.

“Ms Ransom has been providing strong leadership as Interim Chair and is strongly committed to a successful Y20 Summit.”

The new Chair and Y20 Planning Group members are tasked with delivering the Y20 Summit in Sydney this July.

Senator Ryan said “The Y20 Summit provides a forum to discuss challenges and opportunities facing young people within the context of growth and job creation and sustainable economic development.”

“The Y20 Planning Group members have been working to ensure the Y20 aligns with the G20 agenda,” Senator Ryan said.

The Y20 Planning Group will work with delegates selected to represent the G20 member and invited countries to represent youth perspective and interests considering important issues prior to the G20 Summit to be held in Brisbane on November 15-16.”

Nominations for the five Australian youth delegate positions opened on 28 January 2014 and will close 21 February 2014. Young Australians interested in applying to be an Australian delegate can access information on the selection process at or call the Y20 information line: 1300 857536.

Further information on the Y20 Planning Group can be found at