Release type: Joint Media Release


State-of-the-art media facility opens at University of Canberra


Senator the Hon Chris Evans
Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations

Students interested in pursuing a cutting edge media career will benefit from the opening of the latest training facilities at the University of Canberra.

Minister for Tertiary Education, Senator Chris Evans, and Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Senator Stephen Conroy today welcomed the opening of the $1.2 million purpose-built media education facility.

The Australian Government investment in the new Communications Agency and Media Centre is through its Better Universities Renewal Funding (BURF) initiative.

The University of Canberra is one of 41 Australian universities which have received funds from the $500 million BURF initiative for renewing infrastructure to improve teaching and learning, research and students' overall higher education experience.

“I am very pleased this state-of-the-art media facility is now open for business,” Senator Evans said.

“The Government’s investment will allow the University to expand opportunities for media, journalism and communications students putting them at the cutting edge.”

In opening the media centre today, Senator Conroy said the centre would prove to be a vital facility in training future communication professionals.

“We live in a time of dramatic change in the way our society communicates with technological innovation allowing us to share information must faster and cheaper than ever before.”

“The media landscape is very different than it was even a few years ago and so this media centre could not have come at a better time,” Senator Conroy said.

The new media centre comprises two new media laboratories dedicated to media and radio news production, two upgraded computer laboratories housing advanced media production tools and an upgraded radio studio incorporating an ‘on air’ studio.

The Student-led Communications Agency comprises a unique learning space where students can pursue collaborative study and research.