Release type: Media Release


Professor Alan Robson to take on key higher education quality role


Senator the Hon Chris Evans
Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations
Leader of the Government in the Senate

Professor Alan Robson, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Australia, will lead the development of new standards to underpin quality in higher education, Minister for Tertiary Education, Senator Chris Evans announced today.

“We want all students who are studying at Australia’s institutions of higher learning to have access to the best possible education,” said Senator Evans.

 "I’m pleased that Professor Robson has accepted this important role in shaping the standards for the delivery of quality higher education in Australia.

 “Australia’s higher education system is consistently rated as among the best in the world and I want to encourage excellence in the delivery of education to both Australian and international students.

 "The new standards will be crucial to the operations of the new Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency in ensuring students receives the best quality experience.”

 Professor Robson has been Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Australia since 2004 and was previously the Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

 “Professor Robson is an eminent university leader who has a profound commitment to quality educational outcomes for students in our higher education system,” Senator Evans said.

 As foundation chair of the Higher Education Standards Panel, Professor Robson will lead the development of new standards to ensure that Australia’s system of higher education is underpinned by high quality.

 He will be joined by a panel of senior leaders in higher education including:

  • Professor Joanne Wright, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President: Academic, University of South Australia;
  • Professor Richard James, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Participation and Engagement) and Director of the Centre for the Study of Higher Education, University of Melbourne;
  • Professor David Siddle, former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), University of Queensland; and
  • Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis, Director – Quality, Tertiary Education, Science and Research, South Australian Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology and Member, National Skills Standards Council.

 Senator Evans said the panel’s membership, balanced knowledge and expertise in the development of standards taking into consideration the perspectives and interests of students, staff and Australian governments.