Release type: Media Release


Tertiary students to benefit from international study experience


Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck
Minister for Tourism and International Education
Minister Assisting the Minister for Trade and Investment

Minister for Tourism and International Education, Senator Richard Colbeck, today announced the successful recipients of the 2016 Endeavour Mobility Grants, a programme supporting students to study overseas.

“I’m pleased to announce that 2,870 tertiary students, including over 1,000 vocational education and training (VET) students will be supported to study overseas in 2016 under the Government’s Endeavour Mobility Grants,” Senator Colbeck said.

“Nearly 70 tertiary institutions will share in $8.3 million in funding to support Australian undergraduate, postgraduate and VET students to live and study overseas, immersing them in the education and culture of countries including Europe, the Americas, Africa, the Middle East, Asia and the Pacific.

“Through short-term and semester study, practicums, clinical placements, internships, and volunteer projects, students from a range of disciplines will gain a valuable international academic and social experience.

“The Government’s long-standing partnership with Cheung Kong sees the continuation of student exchanges between Australia and Asia under the Endeavour Cheung Kong Student Exchange Programme.”

Senator Colbeck said the announcement reflects the Government’s recognition of the importance of international education to Australia’s ongoing social, cultural and economic growth.

“The Government’s Draft National Strategy for International Education, released in April this year, sets a detailed course for sustainable and continued growth in Australia’s world-class education system, including mobility of Australian and overseas students,” Senator Colbeck said.

“The New Colombo Plan also works to build our knowledge of the Indo-Pacific by supporting Australian undergraduate students to study in the region. In 2016, more than 5,450 mobility students will study across 28 locations.

“I congratulate the tertiary institutions in being awarded this funding under Endeavour Mobility Grants and wish the students all the best in their international study experience,” Senator Colbeck said.

Further information about Endeavour Mobility Grants is available at