Release type: Media Release


New appointments to the Fair Work Commission


Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash
Minister for Employment
Minister for Women
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service
Senator for Western Australia

Minister for Employment, Michaelia Cash, today announced the appointment of three Deputy Presidents to the Fair Work Commission.
Ms Abbey Beaumont has been appointed as a Deputy President, commencing on 14 August 2017. Ms Beaumont is currently the Human Resources and Employee Relations Manager at Fortescue Metals Group Limited in Perth and is a respected employee relations specialist.  Ms Beaumont was formerly a lawyer at Blake Dawson in Perth and previously a nurse in WA.
Ms Amber Millhouse has been appointed as a Deputy President, commencing on 24 September 2017. Ms Millhouse is currently a specialist workplace relations lawyer at Seyfarth Shaw Australia in Melbourne and is a respected workplace relations adviser with extensive employment litigation experience.
Mr Ian Masson has been appointed as a Deputy President, commencing on 31 July 2017. Mr Masson has extensive experience as a workplace relations manager with an extensive career in the resources industry, most recently in Victoria.
The terms of these appointments are from the date of effect until the appointees reach the statutory retirement age of 65.
The three appointees have excellent knowledge and the necessary experience for appointment to the Commission under the Fair Work Act.
“Ms Beaumont, Ms Millhouse and Mr Masson are highly qualified and well regarded in their respective professions.  I am also particularly pleased that two high calibre women have been appointed to these positions. I am confident that all appointees will make valuable contributions to the work of the Fair Work Commission,” Minister Cash said.
Background information on the three appointees is attached.