Release type: Media Release


Appointment of New Chair to Safety Commission


Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash
Minister for Employment
Minister for Women
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service
Senator for Western Australia

The Turnbull Government has appointed Ms Rosemary Vilgan as Chair of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission (SRCC).

Minister for Employment, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash, said Ms Vilgan is recognised both nationally and internationally for her contribution to innovation and business growth.

“Ms Vilgan was the youngest person ever, and first woman, to chair the Board of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia, and was awarded the 2013 Telstra Australian and Queensland Business Woman of the Year,” Minister Cash said.

“I am delighted that such a distinguished and eminently qualified woman has accepted this important position.”

Minister Cash also acknowledged the service of outgoing chair, Mr Barry Sherriff, and thanked him for his contribution to the SRCC over the last three years.

Mr Sherriff will continue in his role as Chair of the Seafarers Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority. 

The Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission was established by the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. It carries out regulatory functions in relation to Comcare and other authorities that determine workers' compensation claims under the SRC Act.