Release type: Media Release


New appointments to the Fair Work Commission


Senator the Hon Eric Abetz
Leader of the Government in the Senate
Minister for Employment
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service
Senator for Tasmania

The Government today announced four appointments to the Fair Work Commission, including three new Commissioners and a Deputy President.

Mr Geoffrey Bull has been promoted to a Deputy President position on the Commission. Ms Tanya Cirkovic, Mr Christopher Platt and Mr Tony Saunders have been appointed as Commissioners.

“These appointees bring a wealth of experience to their roles and I am confident they will further enhance the important work performed by the Fair Work Commission,” Minister for Employment Senator Eric Abetz said today.

The new appointments were made by the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) today.


Mr Bull was appointed to the Commission as a Commissioner in 2012 and has been appointed as a Deputy President.


Ms Cirkovic is currently the Principal of her own boutique law firm, Tanya Cirkovic & Associates, specialising in employment and workplace relations.


Mr Platt is currently the Manager of Employee Relations at BHP Billiton’s Olympic Dam project.


Mr Saunders is a barrister based in Newcastle and Sydney specialising in employment litigation, including employment claims, industrial disputes, discrimination and work health and safety.